Is there a trick?

Discussion in 'Health' started by 7Mary3, Feb 6, 2017.

As a former Amazon Associate I continue to get screwed trying to stay qualified as an Amazon Affiliate. So I quit!

Want to donate to imtbtrails?

1. 7Mary3

7Mary3 Member

Name:
    Andrew
    Current Bike:
    LaPierre Zesty 427 650b
    My rides usually last anywhere from 1.5 -2 hrs, usually my 3L bladder is enough..sometimes however..luckily..I was on the last downhill portion to the car and no need for more water..but I ran dry. I know a lot of riders here do those epic rides going for hours on end.., but how do you bring more water on your ride? ..or am I drinking too much water..? Do you just bring additional water bottles..go back to the car to refill and back out?

Mikie, bvader, kioti and 5 others like this.
  2. rossage

rossage iMTB Hooligan

Name:
    Ross Lawson
    Current Bike:
    Highball
    I'm not a Doctor but I saw one during my colonoscopy...

Sounds like you are drinking too much, too quickly. I can easily do a sub-3 hour ride with just 2 small bottles.

Lots of questions to ask:
    What color is your pee? If it is a dark yellow or other(ewww) then you are probably starting out dehydrated. Clear and copious-or at least just slightly yellow is the target color.
    Do you sweat a lot? Some people do naturally and need to drink more.
    Do you drink alcohol? This will take much more water to process, again, leaving you dehydrated.
    Could be a medical condition-some, like diabetes, cause excessive thirst.

Could be your drinking technique too-take sips, not gulps. Maybe down a bottle on the way to the trailhead...

If all else fails, go see a real Dr.

Mikie, herzalot, Luis and 9 others like this.
  3. kioti

kioti iMTB Rockstah

Name:
    Jim Jennings
    Current Bike:
    ibis ripley
    ^^ Good advice.