Strawberry Peak Loop 12/09/14

Discussion in 'Ride Reports' started by BCrummett, Dec 10, 2014.

Want to donate to imtbtrails?

1. BCrummett

BCrummett Member

Name:
    Brandon
    Current Bike:
    Ibis Mojo HD3
    First of all, I wasn't really planning on riding this yesterday. Nobody I knew was available to ride, I was kind of tired and extremely sore from the previous 3 days of riding, my drive train is on the verge of exploding, there isn't any cell phone service in the mountains, and common sense just dictates don't go on a ride like this alone. So as I was driving up the Crest I told myself, "I'll just climb up the fireroad and check out the top of Josephine Peak," which I have never done before. Once I found my parking spot, and started loading up I noticed how perfect it was outside. The temperatures were in the 50s, the air was extra fresh and crisp, and there was barely a cloud in the sky. So I started the climb up to the saddle. The whole time I kept thinking, I know I'm supposed to play it safe and go to Josephine Peak, BUT I just rode Strawberry Peak 2 days ago and it was a top 5 ride of the year for me... hero dirt all day long... beautiful views... technical, exposed single track... varying terrain... and a little valley below a granite cliff that's right out of Yosemite!!! Pretty much once I got to the saddle there was nothing I could do but turn right and hit the loop. And the rest is history. The ride went even smoother than the ride a few days prior, the trail is still in absolutely perfect riding shape, the whole valley floor single track was lined with frost which was insanely cool, and I felt like I knew the trail this time which led to it having way more flow. Anyways, here's the pics I managed to take. Now let's bring on these rains later in the week, because you know this trail's gonna have another week or so of perfect riding on it again for SURE!!!

IMG_7247.JPG

IMG_7209_2.JPG

IMG_7254.JPG

IMG_7255.JPG

IMG_7248.JPG

IMG_7249.JPG