Shimano XT 12 Spd M8100 Transmission

Discussion in 'Component Product Reviews' started by herzalot, Feb 16, 2020.

As a former Amazon Associate I continue to get screwed trying to stay qualified as an Amazon Affiliate. So I quit!

Want to donate to imtbtrails?

1. herzalot

herzalot iMTB Hooligan

Name:
    Chris
    Current Bike:
    2020 Revel Rail,Yeti SB 130 LR
    Let me start by saying I've always been a Shimano guy, but I've been running SRAM drivetrains since 2016. The Shimano stuff always seemed to shift a little easier, a little quieter and a little more precisely.

However, I spec'd my short-lived Pivot Firebird 29er with SRAM GX Eagle, and I was really impressed. Shifting was tons lighter and more precise than the XO 11 spd stuff on my Tracer. A world of difference.

Then I decided to trade the Firebird for a Megatower, and I spec'd it with the new Shimano transmission, based partly on my prior preferences, partly on reviews but mostly on gear ratios. The SRAM has a 50t climbing gear bolted to the same old 10-42 cassette that was on my Tracer. Shimano decided to devote a little more attention to the steep side of the trail by going 51-45-39-33 on its top four cogs, theoretically giving me better choices for climbing the steep stuff I climb.

Turns out it's true. I find myself using the 45 a lot. I can climb most anything in that gear, but it's nice to have a bailout above it if need be. Quite often, I am toggling between 3rd (39) and 4th (33). By comparison, my 10-42 cassette on my 27.5" wheeled Tracer just doesn't give me the climbing options I need. Oh - I ran a 30 t Race Face Turbine chainring and KMC chain on my 11 spd Tracer and I am running a Wolftooth Hyperglide specific 30 t chainring and Hyperglide chain on my Megatower. That matters.