Non Dot Adventures 2017 Race Series

Discussion in 'Racing' started by MattB, Mar 19, 2017.

As a former Amazon Associate I continue to get screwed trying to stay qualified as an Amazon Affiliate. So I quit!

Want to donate to imtbtrails?

1. MattB

MattB Member

Name:
    Matt B
    The 2017 Non Dot Adventures Race Series is underway, with over 100 racers taking on Dreaded Hill yesterday in the Whiting Ranch Time Trial.

So here's my first Race Report for this series:

I've been racing this series since 2013, and the Whiting Time Trial is always one of the toughest races in the series for me. Especially this year, it just got into my head. My times have been getting progressively slower since 2014 despite getting a lightweight hardtail a couple of seasons ago that should be ideally suited for this race. Then this year I pre-rode the course twice, thinking I had really pushed it hard and killed it on the second ride, only to find that my time was virtually the same :bang:. I started thinking there was nothing I could do to improve my time for this race. I had hoped to use the last couple of weeks to try different pacing strategies or even my full suspension bike, but life got in the way and I was left with just thinking about it and no chance to test any of my ideas.

On the morning of the race it was chilly with dense fog. (photo by Called to Creation)
    CTC53441.jpeg
    About a half hour before the race started, the fog burned off and the sun was out. Fortunately, it still wasn't too hot as we climbed Dreaded. The weather was perfect!

This is the only Time Trial race I ever do, and I'm still not totally comfortable waiting in line to start in 30 second intervals ... then the 2 racers before me didn't show, so now I had 1:30 of sitting on the start line waiting to go :gag:.