Joplin Conditions?

Discussion in 'Trail Conditions' started by jimmymats, Mar 9, 2017.

1. jimmymats

jimmymats Member

Name:
    James Matsubayashi
    Current Bike:
    Ibis Mojo 3
    Has anyone ridden Joplin lately? Was thinking about a Harding Joplin ride, but haven't done Joplin in a long time. Thanks.

2. MattB

MattB Member

Name:
    Matt B
    I just rode there a couple of weeks ago. This is my first attempt at linking to another post, so hopefully it works: #6303

The short version of that post is that I've only ridden it once before, about a year ago. It seemed much chunkier at the top than I remembered. It was also a lot more overgrown. I felt like there were a number of sections I might have cleaned if it were either the chunk or the overgrowth, but not both. I just couldn't maneuver through the loose rocks without catching my bars on branches. My fatigue at that point in the ride didn't help either. :whistling: I didn't remember so many sections in the first half where there was really no dirt on the trail, just medium-large exposed loose rocks, like the trail was one large rut filled with rocks. Don't get me wrong, it was still worth it and fun! There's also one downed tree to climb over/under about half-way down.

The second half of Joplin seemed as good or better than a year ago, and it's cool with the water flowing.

Go for it!

Interested in what other people think who have more experience with Joplin.

3. mike

mike iMTB Addict

Name:
    Mike O
    Current Bike:
    Guerrilla Gravity Smash
    MattB nailed it...

X-tra chunky through the rocky sections from heavy rains, but overall water damage not bad. All the cruxes are fine, but cleaning the entire garden section is a fair bit more difficult than in previous months.

Holy Jim to Upper Joplin is the shortest approach to Joplin, FWIW, with much more singletrack.

Have fun, jimmy, I was thinking about railing it tomorrow. :sneaky:

4. jimmymats

jimmymats Member

Name:
    James Matsubayashi