Fox Ranger Shorts

Discussion in 'Shorts' started by Mikie, Dec 25, 2018.

As a former Amazon Associate I continue to get screwed trying to stay qualified as an Amazon Affiliate. So I quit!

Want to donate to imtbtrails?

1. Mikie

Mikie Admin/iMTB Hooligan

Name:
    Mikie Watson
    Current Bike:
    Ibis DV9 / SC Hightower
    I started riding in the very early 90’s. There was no such thing as “Baggies”. My cycling channeled through racing so Lycra was the shorts. I think Pearl Izumi was the pants of choice. Form fitting, cool in hot weather, padded for hours of seated cycling. Very efficient clothing for cycling and racing.

So when the Baggies came on the scene they made no sense to me. It was fashion before function in my eyes. I stuck with Pearl Izumi. Fun jesting from my compadres sticking to Lycra, I tried a couple of pairs but found them hot or bulky, catching on the nose of my saddle, so I shunned Baggies.

@mtbMike threw out there in a post some Costco shorts for $12 bucks that worked pretty well as riding shorts. I bought a pair and was surprised I liked them. And I went back and bought several pair. So I wore my P.I.’s under them for the pads, but often taking the shorts back off when I got too hot while riding.

A50309FD-8C44-44A5-8851-E665CC6EF68A.jpeg
    ENTER THE FOX RANGER CYCLING SHORTS

@SnakeCharmer bought some Fox Ranger shorts and said they were the wrong size (36). I said I was interested and he brought them to a ride. I took them home and tried them on. Wow! Perfect fit!

So yesterday, I tried them on a ride and I have to say, I was very impressed. To be honest, some things you want to notice, others you don’t. For example, I DON’T want to “think” about my shorts on a ride. Once on the bike and about 50 pedal strokes into the ride, I was already on to other things which is exactly how it should be!