Speedplay's Frog Pedals

Discussion in 'Clipped' started by Mikie, Jul 9, 2017.

As a former Amazon Associate I continue to get screwed trying to stay qualified as an Amazon Affiliate. So I quit!

Want to donate to imtbtrails?

1. Mikie

Mikie Admin/iMTB Hooligan

Name:
    Mikie Watson
    Current Bike:
    Ibis DV9 / SC Hightower
    Some history.
    I started riding mountain bikes in 1991 if I recall correctly. Back then it was Toe Cages guaranteed to assist in a cluttered crash. My first mechanical pedal was this 400 lb (each) Shimano SPD's. These were mud trapping, unpredictable releasing metal grinding on metal hunks of new innovation. After so many failed releases and slow fall over crashes, my elbows got tired of it and we looked for options. So we got sponsored by Onza and their new elastomer sprung pedals. Super light, but with very unpredictable release. The elastomers added to this unpredictability as they were temperature sensitive. On hot days they would release too easily, and on cold days it could be very difficult...

Enter Speedplay Frog's.
    (I hear Angels in angelic unison singing as a light beam washes down from heaven onto a pair of pedals).
    IMG_0489.JPG
    They come in 3 spindle types. Chrome Moly, Stainless Steel, and Titanium. I have always used the Stainless Steel model. They are super simple, super easy to set up, and super duper easy on your knees. In fact, I was having knee problems during my racing years and when I switched to Frogs the knee issues disappeared.

Not much has changed in design for Frogs in several years other than the cleat design. They are more one piece milled than parts assembled, nowadays.