Shimano XT Di2 1x11 Upgrade - First Impression

Discussion in 'Drive Trains' started by Daddy Dirtbag, Oct 27, 2016.

As a former Amazon Associate I continue to get screwed trying to stay qualified as an Amazon Affiliate. So I quit!

Want to donate to imtbtrails?

1. Daddy Dirtbag

Daddy Dirtbag Member

Name:
    Jeff Johansen
    Current Bike:
    2016 Trek Stache 9 29+
    Part I. I just thought I would share my experience and thoughts on the new XT Di2 system. I am a mechanic on weekends at a local shop, so I am able to have access to the Shimano S-Tec online technology education and certification. I completed around 140 different modules in the past year, which has some side benefits, such as being eligible to buy some components at a discount, and any time you complete any courses in a given month, you are automatically entered into a monthly drawing. I won one of the monthly prizes for completing some modules in June and was notified in July that I would be receiving some new XT Di2 components.

After several delays, the good finally shipped withing the past week. I received the last of the items on Tuesday, and completed the installation Tuesday night. Had my first ride on Wednesday night.

The Installation

I was able to get a Shimano XT Di2 upgrade installed on my 2016 Stache 9 last night, and got my first real ride in on it this evening. The installation went pretty smoothly all things considered, but there were a couple things that needed to be worked out.