MTB giveth, and MTB taketh away.

Discussion in 'Health' started by buggravy, Nov 15, 2019.

As a former Amazon Associate I continue to get screwed trying to stay qualified as an Amazon Affiliate. So I quit!

Want to donate to imtbtrails?

1. buggravy

buggravy iMTB Addict

Name:
    Matt
    Current Bike:
    Transition Sentinel
    I got the results of my MRI today, and it was basically what I feared but more or less expected. Fully torn ACL, and tibial plateau fracture. Fortunately no MCL tear, and the meniscus is in tact and looks good (which I hear may be a small miracle, given the TP fracture). Surgery is scheduled for 12/17. I am going for a second opinion on Monday, though that is more of a due diligence formality, and maybe a bit of surgeon shopping. I don't create a separate thread for the sake of attention, but more to create an information portal. I feel like I'm a borderline expert on shoulders after a couple surgeries, but knees are new territory for me. I imagine there is a wealth of experience and knowledge on the subject among members here. @DangerDirtyD has already been very helpful (and caring I might add), and I welcome any and all nuggets anyone else wants to share. Next order of business is for me to decide if I want to go with cadaver tissue for the graft, or an auto harvest. My surgeon gave a slight nudge towards harvesting my own tissue, due to a marginally better success/longevity rate at the expense of some increased discomfort in early recovery, but supposedly no increase in recovery time in terms of a return to activities. I'm guessing it might not be quite that cut and dry, but if so that does seem like kind of a no brainer.