About to Start - Marlin 6

Discussion in 'Say Hello!' started by deesalsa25, Jun 8, 2018.

As a former Amazon Associate I continue to get screwed trying to stay qualified as an Amazon Affiliate. So I quit!

Want to donate to imtbtrails?

1. muni

muni Member

Name:
    Mike
    Current Bike:
    17 Yeti SB5
    As mentioned previously, @SnakeCharmer suggested and rides a Timberjack. This would be a much better buy https://salsacycles.com/bikes/timberjack/2018_timberjack_nx1_27.5 . It has an air fork (although I have no experience with the Judy TK), boost wheelset, 1x transmission 11-42, hydro brakes (just get metallic pads), and later buy a dropper. Added bonus it's 27.5 plus which so forgiving. If your not in shape 11-42 gearing might be tough. When I first started riding I did more hike a bike then riding up the hills. You can add a wolftooth 49 tooth cog and will work with the SRAM NX derailer.

Danmtchl, DangerDirtyD and Faust29 like this.
  2. Derkderkall

Derkderkall iMTB Rockstah

Name:
    Derek Allison
    Current Bike:
    2020 Specialized Fuse 29
    It's not going to be unrideable with that fork. I'm still on my original cheap o coil fork. Not the best ridge quality, but adequate for learning if you keep in mind that it will need to be replaced. You will still have fun. More important, make sure it is tapered so you can easily find a replacement.

When I first bought my bike, I didn't know how much I would actually trail ride, looking back, I would have looked at something a little higher quality.

Basically..depending on your budget, or if dead set on buying new, take a long think about are you looking to spend more up front and get a quality bike, or do you want to stick under a budget and have something that you will continue to upgrade as parts wear out or budget allows

3. Voodoo Tom

Voodoo Tom MTB Addict

Name:
    Tom Kokkinakis
    Current Bike:
    Mango one, black one, Ti one