Lights

Discussion in 'Lights' started by Derkderkall, Sep 7, 2017.

As a former Amazon Associate I continue to get screwed trying to stay qualified as an Amazon Affiliate. So I quit!

Want to donate to imtbtrails?

1. Derkderkall

Derkderkall iMTB Rockstah

Name:
    Derek Allison
    Current Bike:
    2020 Specialized Fuse 29
    The days are getting shorter, my time in the saddle was pretty sad last winter due to the early darkness and the fact that I don't have a light. So.

Good lights for night riding? Suggestions that won't break the bank?
    How many lumens do you have?

Mikie, mike, DangerDirtyD and 2 others like this.
  2. Faust29

Faust29 Moderator

Name:
    B. Bunny
    Current Bike:
    I gots some bikes.
    You're going to get quite a few answers, I'm sure!

I've been running Amazon cheapies at a claimed 500 lumens for a couple years now, but one of them recently bit the dust. One still functions fine, but it's time to upgrade... I like to ride at night, but feel pretty vulnerable with a single point of failure.

Current Amazon Cheapie:
    Unknown.jpeg

Mikie, mike and Runs with Scissors like this.
  3. Runs with Scissors

Runs with Scissors iMTB Hooligan

Name:
    Mark Whitaker
    Current Bike:
    Giant XTC with pedals
    Don't cheap out on the lights if you want to ride at night. Save yer ducats, get a NiteRider 750 or better. They work. They cost, but dammit they work!!!! If anyone runs you over, they won't be able to say they didn't see you. :whistling:

ricke24, MattB, Cyclotourist and 4 others like this.
  4. Sidewalk

Sidewalk iMTB Rockstah

Name:
    Josh
    Current Bike:
    N+1
    Best advice.

That said, I have a Brighteyes 1200, buying the new 1600. Actual output is about half that. But sub $50. Good support, cheap replacement batteries and they honor the warranty.

https://www.brighteyesproducts.com/collections/frontpage

5. Grego

Grego iMTB Addict

Name:
    joe
    Current Bike:
    WFO9